Recent Advances in Kohn-Sham Density Functional Theory and Multiconfiguration Pair-Density Functional Theory

Donald G. Truhlar

Department of Chemistry, Chemical Theory Center, and Supercomputing Institute, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55355-0431

Kohn-Sham density functional theory has revolutionized the practice of quantum electronic structure in both chemistry and physics, and the accuracy depends on the quality of the exchange-correlation functional. I will review recent progress including the recently developed specialized functionals xe-PBE0, HLE16, and HLE17 and the recently developed "universal" functionals GAM, MN15-L, and MN15. Although the new functionals have provided significant progress in treating strongly correlated (i.e., inherently multiconfigurational) systems and excited states, these remain difficult for Kohn-Sham theory. To remedy this, we have developed a new form of density functional theory (multiconfiguration pair-density functional theory: MC-PDFT) based on multiconfiguration wave functions and the on-top pair density, and my talk will also review recent progress with this new theoretical formalism.

I would like to thank Haoyu S. Yu, Pragya Verma, Shaohong L. Li, Xiao He, Wenjing Zhang, Xuefei Xu, Xin Zhang, Miho Isegawa, Roberto Peverati, Yan Zhao, Benjamin J. Lynch, and Nathan E. Schultz for their contributions to the work on Kohn-Sham density functional theory. The work on multiconfiguration pair-density functional theory is a collaboration with Laura Gagliardi involving both of our groups, and we would like to thank Rebecca K. Carlson, Giovanni Li Manni, Chad Hoyer, Soumen Ghosh, Lucas Bao, Samuel Odoh, Andrew Sand, Dongxia Ma, Andrew L. Sonnenberger, Sijie (Andy) Luo, Jeppe Olsen, Kamal Sharkas, Jie Bao, Sam Stoneburner, Prachi Sharma, and Chris Cramer for their contributions to this work.

This work was supported in part by the National Science Foundation under grant no. CHE– 1464536, by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research under grant FA9550-16-1-0134, and as part of the Inorganometallic Catalysis Design Center, an Energy Frontier Research Center funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences under Award DE-SC0012702.